MOT | A Complete Guide For Petrol, Diesel & Electric Cars

What is an MOT?

MOT is an annual test that ensures a vehicle’s safety on road including exhaust emissions and roadworthiness aspects that are required by the government of UK. It’s a legal requirement. During the MOT Test, all the essential parts of a vehicle are thoroughly examined to ensure that they’re meeting all the required legal standards.

When does my car need an MOT test?

It has been advised by the experts to get your first MOT test done 3 years after the date of your registration (for a brand new car). Your MOT date is mentioned on your MOT certificate, you can check from there. Another alternate is to log on to the site to know about your MOT status. Or find a local garage and enter your registration number along with your vehicle make on their website. This way you can check your MOT assessment status with just a few clicks.

There are many garages that offer MOT services from just £25, for example KAP Motors in one such credible garage. You can get your car certified today! Just book online and choose a date and time of your convenience.

Can I perform MOT myself?

A complete and thorough MOT cannot be performed at home. You need to visit a local garage to get it done from the experts. However, here are a few checks that you can make to know that the following necessary car parts are working fine before taking the car to the garage:

  1. Check brake fluid
  2. Check tyre tread 
  3. Ensure your engine has adequate oil 
  4. Make sure your lights are working etc.

Do electric cars need an MOT?

Electric vehicles still have to pass an MOT test after three years just like any other vehicle on the road. The main difference between EVs and petrol or diesel cars during its MOT test is that there’s no emissions test.

How does an electric car MOT work?

Step 1: As with an internal combustion engine MOT, an electric car has to be logged on the official MOT test computer system. As mentioned above there are no emissions checks to worry about so EV drivers would jump to the next step.

Step 2: The tester will then check that all your lights work correctly.

Step 3: Next, they’ll check the seatbelts, windscreen wipers etc and examine the windscreen for cracks or chips.

Step 4: After that’s done your car will be raised into the air on an MOT test lift. They will then check that your steering is intact. The tester will then spin each wheel freely to check the tyres and to check for the correct bearing operation which also includes a full suspension check.

Step 5: The MOT tester will now check for any presence of rust at any key mounting points and brackets. Interestingly, MOT testers aren’t allowed to remove anything to check for the presence of rust, so the big aerodynamic underbody panel on most EVs will stay put.

Step 6: Finally, it’s back down to the ground for the same brake tests you’d have in any car.

Which vehicles are exempt from an MOT?

  • Cars and motorcycles made before 1960
  • Goods vehicles powered by electricity
  • Tractors

A list of exempt types of vehicles is on form V112. As per the .Gov website, you will need to fill in the form if your vehicle is listed so that you can tax it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *